Birthdaytripper

It takes exactly two-and-a-half hours to get from my home in Frestopia to my in-laws home in Atascadero.  I know this because I have made this drive three times in the last three days, and each time it was a perfect 2.5.

Today I got to make a round-trip.  

Last night we discovered that Hope’s Genotropin (the brand name of her Human Growth Hormone) was accidentally left out of the refrigerator.  By the time we realized what had happened, it had been out for a full 24 hours and was unusable.  So this morning I had to get up early to call the specialty pharmacy that we use to fill the prescription to see if they could locate the drug for us here in Atascadero or at least nearby.  The specialty pharmacy, by the way, is a program Hope qualifies for through Walgreen’s.  They have a pharmacist that is specially trained in HGH therapy, and they actually call us to schedule refills–instead of the other way around, which is a big help.  If we do have a prescription issue though, we call the specialty pharmacist (located in Florida) and they communicate with our neighborhood pharmacist…or in today’s case, with every Walgreen’s within 100 miles of Atascadero.

Unfortunately, the closest Walgreens with Genotropin in stock was our neighborhood store, because they stock it just for us.  After some debate whether to do the round trip solo or to take Hope with me and spend the night at home before returning in the morning, I decided to go it alone.  I left the house at 10:00 a.m. and was back home at 12:30, new prescription in hand.  I dropped off a few things I had brought back with me, packed the prescription on ice and headed back out.  I was back to the in-laws place at 3:30 p.m.  

Fortunately….and this is a BIG fortunately….our insurance covered the replacement.  The Gentropin comes “unmixed” — there is a powder and a liquid that have to be mixed together prior to use.  The mixed formula is then inserted as a cartridge into a pen–like an epi-pen–and Hope gets .02 mLs every night.  One cartridge lasts us about three weeks.  Knowing that we would run out of our current cartridge while we were out of town, we got our refill a little early.  Sure enough, we finished off the current cartridge on Thursday night when we got here.  The little box, containing the new batch of HGH is what got left out — and that was not discovered until Friday night when it came time to give Hope her injection.  So, she missed one dose.  I’m sure it won’t be the last time, but it sure made bedtime last night tense.  I don’t know what a batch of Genotropin costs retail, I’ve read of a year’s therapy costing $40,000…but that might have been at adult dosage levels.  In any case, I know it is one of those drugs that makes you damn thankful for insurance.  I don’t know what we did to deserve the “pass” on our mishandled prescription, but believe me–that was the best birthday present I never asked for.

Oh yeah, today’s my 35th birthday.  Not that I’m fishing or anything, just that it kind of adds another level of memorability to the whole ordeal. 

This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

