how long has the gas light been on?

When the little gas pump light on my fuel gauge lights up I know that I can safely drive one-way to Selma, or I can drive from just beyond Kettleman City to the first gas station in Paso…that one was a nail-biter; although not as bad as the time I misjudged on the Grapevine.   Sometimes I can’t remember seeing the light go on but I can usually tell from the miles on the trip how far I’ve got before a fill-up is critical.

I wish I had a fuel gauge.

My light is on, I don’t know how long it’s been on and I’m not sure just how many miles more I can go or where I’m going to fill up…though I hope it’s IHOP.

This entry was posted in Postcards from Holland and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

