Pins and needles

Grace is sick….pretty darn sick.  This one came out of nowhere–no runny nose, no sore throat, no grumpiness.  All of the sudden on Sunday morning she just had full-blown chest congestion and a nasty cough…then the temperature started spiking and breaking, spiking and breaking….

I used to enjoy it when Grace was sick, I know that sounds awful — but when she is sick is virtually the only time she sits still long enough to cuddle.  She’s very affectionate too, when she’s sick.  Last night I held her in the beanbag chair for an hour, watching The Great Mouse Detective.  She’d wimper that she didn’t feel good, and I’d tell her how sorry I was and how much I loved her.  Her response?  “Iz OK mama, iz not your fault, I wuv woo too.”  She also made it clear that it was not mommy or B-Ho’s fault that she was sick.  

OK, so I still kind of enjoy the sick days–even though I know that it’s just a matter of time before I’ve got whatever she’s got.  We used this one as an excuse to go out an get some new movies to watch.  Come to think of it, the last time we got new movies was the flu back at Thanksgiving.  

But then there is Hope.  

Hope has sucked the enjoyment right out of sick days, especially this one.  I don’t know what Grace has got for sure, but I’m praying it isn’t RSV.  I’m pretty sure we’ve been exposed to it at EPU, and I know it’s going around.  Sick as she is, Grace is a trooper and I don’t worry much about her — but Hope is another story.  Fifth disease put us in the hospital back in November with chest congestion that Hope could not clear out on her own.  It took her the better part of six weeks to finally get rid of the chest congestion from that one.  She’s stronger now, but if she gets what Grace has in the chest….I’m fearful of the result.

And I’m kicking myself that I didn’t fight hard for the Synegis vaccine.  Our pediatrician wanted it badly for Hope and filed at least two appeals to the denial.  I called our case manager, but took her word that it was futile to pursue it further…though I still could have.  I should have.

This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pins and needles

  1. tara says:

    Found you through facebook. I hope she gets better soon. Please don’t kick yourself. You did everything you could. The appeals process is beyond frustrating, and your case manager was probably right that it would have been futile. God bless Grace!

Leave a Reply

