Cook ‘n’ Blog

It may surprise you to learn that I don’t just bitch and pontificate all day long, I also cook!

I’ve been experimenting lately with vegan cooking.  I’d call myself a “weekday vegan” at this point, I’d like to be a full vegan eventually but I’m not sure how that’s going to be received.  So far it’s working out pretty good.  Neither of the kids are particularly big meat eaters, they like fish and that’s about it.  Dairy in all its forms give Hope a terrible diaper rash and diarrhea, so she’s been on soy products anyway.  The only thing we really had to cut then were eggs which wasn’t a big deal for the girls, just me – everything else is pretty easy to substitute with soy products.  I haven’t missed my eggs or dairy though, and the few times that I have strayed back I have been punished with the most incredible gas …okay, tmi….I’ll stop.  The wife likes to BBQ and is still an omnivore, I’m not pushing it there.  As long as we’re able to eat fish, she’s pretty happy.  Besides, good, lean, organic, grass-fed beef or truly free-range chicken is so expensive we’d have to sell one of the kids to eat it anyway.

Anyhoo, this was breakfast this morning…

I’ve never made scones before, and I’m not a huge scone expert but I thought these were more like biscuits. I might have overworked the dough (I did the whole thing in the food processor) and I used applesauce in place of the margarine and that might have affected it also. I didn’t make the glaze, because glazes in my house just tend to glaze the furniture. Instead I pressed semi-sweet chocolate chips into the top of the scones before baking them. Because of the chips, my recipe wasn’t totally vegan (I know there are vegan chips out there, unfortunately not in my pantry)- but the recipe below is. (From “My Sweet Vegan,” by Hannah Kaminsky)

PB Scones:
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I use whole-wheat pastry flour)
2 Tablespoons Granulated Sugar
2 Teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons margarine (I used applesauce)
1/4 cup crunchy peanut butter (I used creamy)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup plain soymilk

Chocolate-PB Glaze
1/3 cup powdered sugar
1/2 Tablespoon Dutch Process Cocoa Powder
1 Tablespoon Creamy Peanut BUtter
1 Tablespoon Plain Soymilk

Preheat oven to 400, line a baking sheet with parchment

Combine the floor, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Cut the margarine into small pieces, and use a fork or a pastry cutter to press both the margarine and the crunch peanut butter into the flour mixture. COntinue cutting the fats in until the mixture resembles large, coarse crumbs, at which point you can stir in the vanilla. Slowly drizzle in the soymilk, one tablespoon at a time, stirring just until the dough starts to come together into a ball. Try no to overwork the dough any more than necessary. (I did all of the above in the food processor)

Shape dough into a rough circle. Cut this circle into four quarters (I cut it into six wedges), and separate them on the baking sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until they turn a light golden brown. Cool on the baking sheet for at least 5 minutes.

For the glaze, combine the powdered sugar, cocoa, peanut butter, and soymilk together in a small bowl. MIx until smooth and drizzle over the cooled scones.

I think these could be cut even smaller and serve as a pretty decent cookie substitute.

As you can see, when served with a banana and a cup of vanilla soymilk (plain, unsweetened soymilk with a squirt of sugar-free Torani), these make a delicious breakfast.  If you look closely, however, you will see that Hope is holding both halves of the banana – since her sister pawned her banana off on her — and you can see that Grace has not eaten any of her scone.  This is why mommy yells, because guess which one of these two is going to be nagging at me for a snack in thirty-minutes?  In her defense, she did projectile vomit about five minutes after this was taken – so I guess today she really didn’t feel like eating.  The good news is, I just got out of having to take the girls on a bike ride or out to the zoo as I have a very strict “you vomit, we stay home”-rule.

Hope did a pretty good job on the scone considering how crumbly it was, I wasn’t sure she’d like it too much since she’s kind of picky about textures.  She loves chocolate though, so I cut her scone up in little pieces, each with a chip on top.  She ate most of the scone and most of the banana (and all of the chocolate) and is now nursing the soymilk.

So from time to time I’ll post pictures and recipes that I’ve found in my growing library of vegan and vegetarian cookbooks, things that we like, things the kids liked especially.

This entry was posted in In the Kitchen and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cook ‘n’ Blog

  1. erica rose says:

    I cook/eat vegan about 90% of the time. Let me know if you want any helpful hints on substitutions or kid friendly recipes.

Leave a Reply

