Maybe someday…

Two posts in my Facebook feed kept me thinking today.  The first, from Americablog, shows the crowd in Argentina upon hearing the results of the Senate vote in that country, legalizing gay marriage.  The title of the post, and the comment of the friend who shared it on Facebook was “Someday we’ll have a moment like this.”  I’d like to believe that I’ll see it.  But like many of the commenters on the post, I have my doubts.

The second post was from Huffington Post — Arizona Immigrant Deaths in the Desert Soaring.

The bodies of 40 illegal immigrants have been brought to the office of Pima County Medical Examiner Dr. Bruce Parks since July 1. At that rate, Parks said the deaths could top the single-month record of 68 in July 2005 since his office began tracking them in 2000.

…Authorities believe the high number of deaths are likely due to above-average and unrelenting heat in southern Arizona this month and ongoing tighter border security that pushes immigrants to more remote, rugged and dangerous terrain.

My comment as I shared this piece with my friends– Okay, they are breaking the law coming here illegally.  I get that.  But they see something in this country that they are willing to risk their lives for — shouldn’t that be enough for us to show them some mercy and compassion?  Honestly, as a gay American, I envy the optimism that these people seem to have in the virtues of my country.

I really mean that.  I’m sorry that I really mean that.  I’ve got family serving and protecting this country across the ocean and I truly respect, honor, and envy people who have that kind of faith in the promise of this country.

I had it once.  Hell, I became a history and civics teacher so I could impart it to students.  But somewhere between “Mission Accomplished”, the GOP’s Alaskan Anger Muppet, and Proposition 8 I lost it – and our current President has thusfar failed to restore it.  But I’d sure like to have it again.

I am loth to close. We are not enemies, but friends. We must not be enemies. Though passion may have strained, it must not break our bonds of affection. The mystic chords of memory, stretching from every battle-field, and patriot grave, to every living heart and hearthstone, all over this broad land, will yet swell the chorus of the Union, when again touched, as surely they will be, by the better angels of our nature.  –Abraham Lincoln’s First Inaugural Address.


This entry was posted in "The Gays", Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maybe someday…

Leave a Reply

