Mission aborted

I’m not reading the encyclopedia.

But it isn’t like I’m quitting the idea, I just have to rethink and regroup.

Here’s the problem–  for starters, the library does not carry the Encyclopaedia Britannica.  They do carry the Encyclopedia Americana but only for reference, not for checkout.  The only encyclopedia that is available for checkout is past editions of World Book.  I checked out ‘A’, 2009 edition and am about 70 pages into it, but I have the distinct impression that I am reading the Jr. Cliff’s Notes version of an an encyclopedia.  It just doesn’t feel authentic.  It’s interesting, but all I’m really learning is that I would probably really enjoy reading a real encyclopedia more.  I’m actually pretty disappointed.  So I have to figure out how to get my hands on the Britannica without having to sell a kidney.

This entry was posted in Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

