The Home Stretch

It’s less than a week away.

I spent the morning writing down my expected/ideal time splits at each mile and where I’ll be along the route so my mommy can find me.  I also marked where I should take Gu and when I should be finishing bottles of Gatorade.

I know what I am wearing: my compression shorts because my thighs still need to be compressed…like sausage; my Pinnacle wicking tee (unless it looks like it’s going to warm up, then I’ll wear the singlet…but I don’t want to risk getting too cool on the course since now I know that cold boobies are my Kryptonite); my Balega socks (unless it’s raining, then I’ll wear my SmartWools); the Asics Gel-Nimbus 12; my Addidas hat (unless it’s looking really warm, then the Zoot visor) and my Target running bra (purchased before the boycott).

I’ve decided to carry a water bottle with Gatorade because I just cannot get the hang of running and drinking at the same time, and because I am a little paranoid about having to deal with congestion at the water tables.  I figure it’ll just be less stressful to carry it, at least part of the way — plus I can stuff it full of Gu.  I think I can fit 3 Gus in the pocket and carry one.

Gatorade flavor: Lemon-lime

Gu flavor: Just Plain

I’ve been working on my pre-run routine for several weeks now.

4:00 am: rise and shine (thanks to the time change the day of the race, it’ll feel like getting up at 5am).  Turn on Spirit of the Marathon.

4:15 am:  breakfast–pancake with raisins, banana, & macadamia nuts, syrup and 20oz of Gatorade.

4:30 am:  Start rubbing Voltaren Gel on pretty much everything.

5:00 am:  Apply anti-chafing and anti-blister substances.  Shoes on.

5:15 am:  Visit the potty.  Make “it” happen.

5:30 am:  Maybe a little active stretching.  Or maybe I’ll just vomit.

5:40 am:  Out the door.

I haven’t quite hammered out what I want to eat the night before or after the race but I’ll figure that out later since I’ve managed to make myself nauseous just writing all this stuff down.

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

